Getting the Z88DK software development suite up and running

In the previous post, I stated that I was finally able to get the Z88DK software development suite up and running.

I should point out that I am running Linux Mint 13 on an AMD64 CPU.

DISTRIB_ID=LinuxMint
DISTRIB_RELEASE=13
DISTRIB_CODENAME=maya
DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION=”Linux Mint 13 Maya”
NAME=”Ubuntu”
VERSION=”12.04.5 LTS, Precise Pangolin”
ID=ubuntu
ID_LIKE=debian
PRETTY_NAME=”Ubuntu precise (12.04.5 LTS)”
VERSION_ID=”12.04″

Initially, I was successful in compiling the tools but had a problem compiling the libraries.  I posted a help request on the the “RC2104 Forum” https://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/rc2014-z80

Phillip and AA both left instructions, which can be found in this thread here: https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/rc2014-z80/W_QkkHJvTVE

The main culprit was that I was not aware of this step:

cp sdcc {z88dk}/bin/zsdcc
cp sdcpp {z88dk}/bin/zsdcpp

Once SDCC was patched, the SDCC and SDCPP compilers had to be manually copied to the BIN directory of the Z88DK tools.  Once I performed that step, the “make lib” build step completed without errors and I could then perform the “make install-libs” to complete the installation of the Z88DK tools.  I was also successful in compiling some of the example programs and even wrote up a little routine of my own, which also compiled (assembled).

Be aware that the current Z88DK tools cannot run in “system install”  mode, only “user” mode.

Leave a Reply

